Blog #766: Transformers Artifact of Week: Transformers: The Movie 35mm Film Trailer

tftm35mm0

Transformers Artifact of Week: Transformers: The Movie 35mm Film Trailer

tftm35mm1

Picked this up on ebay for only $15 plus shipping.  It’s a 35mm Movie Theater film trailer for Transformers: The Movie.  I have nothing to play it on and I didn’t want to chance unrolling it, but based on what I can see from the inner most frames, it appears to be this trailer, but missing the first 25 seconds:

I say that is missing 25 seconds because the end on the inside of the coil starts at about 25 seconds.  This also explains something I found initially puzzling.

tftm35mm3

As you can see “#2” has been written on the label.  I initially assumed this meant that it was trailer #2, but if it is indeed the above trailer, then it would have to be the first one, as it shows Ultra Magnus in his original Diaclone colors scheme.  I believe that he would have only appeared in those colors in the first trailer, but I was unable to find confirmation of that anywhere.  I looked at a bunch of trailers on YouTube, and this is the only one that resembles the film I pulled out of the coil and looked at.  So, since it does appear to be missing the first 25 seconds, I am assuming that there was a second piece of this film, and that is why it has the “#2”.  There are pieces of yellow tape on both sides of the end inside the coil, so it was clearly taped to a second piece.  That may mean the trailer was in two pieces and put together, though with it being so short that doesn’t make a lot of sense.  I really don’t know much about this stuff, so I’m making a lot of guesses that might mean nothing.  There is one additional odd thing though.

tftm35mm2

It carries the approval of the Alberta Board of Censors and is dated July 17, 1986.  I find it odd that the first trailer was approved in July for a movie coming out in August.  There is probably some technical reason for this, but I found it very odd.

I am searching for a projector that will play this so I can confirm it is the trailer I think it is, but it is unlikely I will find one.  If I do I will update this.

As always, you can find over 9000 Transformers merchandise items and collectibles at TFMuseum.com.  I have not done an update to the site in a while.  Hopefully I will be doing a major update this winter with more than 1200 more items including a huge number of Age of Extinction items.

Thanks for reading!

About lmb3

I’m 36 years old, and I work in network tech support for a public school system. I am a huge fan of Star Trek, Transformers, Harry Potter, and Marvel Comics as well as numerous other fandoms. I’m a big sports fan, especially the Boston Red Sox and the New England Patriots. I collect toys (mostly Transformers but other stuff too), comic books, and Red Sox baseball cards. I watch an obscene amount of television and love going to the movies. I am hopelessly addicted to Wizard Rock and I write Harry Potter Fanfiction, though these days I am working on a couple of different original YA novels.
This entry was posted in Transformers, Transformers Artifact of the Week and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment