Blog #852: RIP Leonard Nimoy

Leonard Nimoy
March 26, 1931 – February 27, 2015

RIP1It has been a week since I heard the news of the passing of Leonard Nimoy.  I have been trying to find the words for this blog since then.  I just don’t have them, and I’m not sure I ever will.  This really doesn’t surprise me.

I “met” him once, in an autograph line.  A quick “Hi” and a “Thanks” were the only words I got out.  Really, I don’t know how in five seconds I would have thanked him for the profound impact Star Trek and Spock particularly has had on my life.  On the other hand, I’m sure he’s heard it countless times, so he probably already knew.

Even if I do find the words, I’m not sure I will be able to get them out.  But I think the words already exist to sum up how I feel right now, and along with a picture I saw on Facebook today, well, I don’t think there is anything that I can add.

RIP2Image Source: Facebook

“And Enterprise feels like a house with all the children gone. No, more empty even than that. The death of Spock is like an open wound. It seems I have left the noblest part of myself back there…on that newborn planet.” – Captain James T. Kirk, Star Trek III: The Search for Spock

Yeah, that sums it up.

Warp speed, Mr. Spock.  Warp speed.

About lmb3

I’m 36 years old, and I work in network tech support for a public school system. I am a huge fan of Star Trek, Transformers, Harry Potter, and Marvel Comics as well as numerous other fandoms. I’m a big sports fan, especially the Boston Red Sox and the New England Patriots. I collect toys (mostly Transformers but other stuff too), comic books, and Red Sox baseball cards. I watch an obscene amount of television and love going to the movies. I am hopelessly addicted to Wizard Rock and I write Harry Potter Fanfiction, though these days I am working on a couple of different original YA novels.
This entry was posted in Movies, Star Trek, Television and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment