Blog #779: Transformers Artifact of the Week: Marvel Transformers (1984) #4 Rare Second Printing

TF#4-0LogoTransformers Artifact of the Week: Marvel Transformers (1984) #4 Rare Second Printing

TF#4-1FrontCover

It’s taken me a long time, but I finally have a complete set of Marvel Transformers (Generation One) USA Comics.  I have been searching for the last one for a very long time.  It is the apparently impossible to find second printing (Direct Edition) of Transformers #4.  Most of the single digit issues of Transformers had multiple printings.  Issues #1, #2, #3, and #7 had three printings each, and issues #4, #8, and #9 had two printings each.  Most of these have a notation on the first page that they are the second or third printings.  However, issue #4 has no such notation.  The only way you can tell the first and second printings apart is by the advertisements and the order page.

TF#4-2OrderPage TF#4-3OrderPage2

As you can see above the first printing (pictured left) has a November 1984 date on the order form, while the second printing has an April 1985 date.

TF#4-4InsideBackCover TF#4-5BackCover

The advertisements, as pictured on the inside and outside back covers above, were also changed, as were all the other ads throughout the book.

I found this purely by accident in an overpriced auction for three random issues of TF.  In fact, I looked at the auction twice before I realized I was actually looking at the second printing.  Finding this book gives me hope that some of the other odds and ends I’ve been hunting for will eventually turn up.

As always, you can find over 9000 Transformers merchandise items and collectibles at TFMuseum.com.  I have not done an update to the site in a while.  Hopefully I will be doing a major update this winter with more than 1500 more items including a huge number of Age of Extinction items.

Thanks for reading!

About lmb3

I’m 36 years old, and I work in network tech support for a public school system. I am a huge fan of Star Trek, Transformers, Harry Potter, and Marvel Comics as well as numerous other fandoms. I’m a big sports fan, especially the Boston Red Sox and the New England Patriots. I collect toys (mostly Transformers but other stuff too), comic books, and Red Sox baseball cards. I watch an obscene amount of television and love going to the movies. I am hopelessly addicted to Wizard Rock and I write Harry Potter Fanfiction, though these days I am working on a couple of different original YA novels.
This entry was posted in Transformers, Transformers Artifact of the Week and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blog #779: Transformers Artifact of the Week: Marvel Transformers (1984) #4 Rare Second Printing

  1. lmb3 says:

    #4 is definitely a second printing. That was the only issue that did not have any note in the indica to indicate it was a second printing. You have to go by the ads. The others should have a note if they are second or third printings, and if not, they are first printings. I think the ads just match because the second printing of #4 occurred when Marvel was using those ads.

    Thanks,

    Lewis

  2. Rick says:

    So I just dug my Transformer books out and my #4, #5, #6, and #7 all have the Payday ad on back cover and the APR-85 on order page are those all 2nd prints? None have any note in the indica. I know this is an old thread but I just came across it looking up info on the print runs.

Leave a comment